Who has won the most World Juniors? List of every gold medalist from the IIHF U20 tournament

Ten teams are meeting in Halifax and Moncton for the 2023 World Juniors and every country has its eyes on one thing — a gold medal. 

There has not been a ton of variety in recent years at the World Juniors in terms of champions. Either Canada, the USA or Finland has earned gold at every tournament since 2013. 

However, we have not seen a repeat winner since Canada won five consecutive times from 2005-2010. The country aims to go back-to-back as the 2023 tournament gets underway in the Maritimes. 

MORE: 2023 World Juniors schedule, standings, results

Here is a look at every winner of the World Juniors dating to the beginning of the tournament’s history. 

What country has won the most medals?

Canada enters the 2023 tournament with the most gold medals of all time. The 2022 win marked the 19th gold medal for the country. 

But Russia, which is not participating in the 2023 World Juniors, owns the most total medals with 37. It has won the most silver and bronze medals out of any country. 

The United States is tied for the third-most gold medals with Finland and owns the sixth-most total medals. 

Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
Russia* 13 13 11 37
Canada 19 10 5 34
Sweden 2 11 7 20
Finland 5 5 7 17
Czech Republic+ 2 5 7 14
United States 5 2 6 13
Slovakia 0 0 2 2
Switzerland 0 0 1 1

* Includes medals won as the Soviet Union and CIS
+ Includes medals won as Czechoslovakia

List of all the World Juniors winners

The last winner to be crowned the World Juniors champion was Canada, which took down Finland in overtime of the gold-medal game. 

Mason McTavish swiped away a puck on the goal line early in overtime to prevent Finland from claiming the 2022 World Juniors. A minute later, Kent Johnson buried the game-winning goal. 

MORE: Every NHL draft pick at the 2023 World Juniors

Here is a list of every medalist for each year of the tournament. 

Year Location Gold Silver Bronze
2022 Edmonton, Canada Canada Finland Sweden
2021 Edmonton, Canada United States Canada Finland
2020 Ostrava/Trinec, Czech Republic Canada Russia Sweden
2019 Vancouver/Victoria, Canada Finland United States Russia
2018 Buffalo, N.Y., United States Canada Sweden United States
2017 Montreal/Toronto, Canada United States Canada Russia
2016 Helsinki, Finland Finland Russia United States
2015 Montreal/Toronto, Canada Canada Russia Slovakia
2014 Malmo, Sweden Finland Sweden Russia
2013 Ufa, Russia United States Sweden Russia
2012 Calgary/Edmonton, Canada Sweden Russia Canada
2011 Buffalo/Niagara, N.Y., United States Russia   Canada   United States
2010 Regina/Saskatoon, Canada United States Canada   Sweden  
2009 Ottawa, Canada Canada   Sweden   Russia  
2008 Pardubice/Liberec, Czech Republic Canada   Sweden   Russia  
2007 Leksand/Mora, Sweden Canada   Russia   United States
2006 Kamloops/Kelowna/Vancouver, Canada Canada   Russia   Finland  
2005 Grand Forks, N.D./Thief River Falls, Minn., United States Canada   Russia   Czech Republic  
2004 Helsinki/Hameenlinna, Finland United States Canada   Finland  
2003 Halifax/Sydney, Canada Russia   Canada   Finland  
2002 Pardubice/Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic Russia   Canada   Finland  
2001 Moscow/Podolsk, Russia Czech Republic   Finland   Canada  
2000 Skelleftea/Umea, Sweden Czech Republic   Russia   Canada  
1999 Winnipeg, Canada Russia   Canada   Slovakia  
1998 Helsinki/Hameenlinna, Finland Finland   Russia   Switzerland  
1997 Geneva/Morges, Switzerland Canada   United States Russia  
1996 Boston, Mass., United States Canada   Sweden   Russia  
1995 Red Deer, Canada Canada   Russia   Sweden  
1994 Ostrava/Frydek-Mistek, Czech Republic Canada   Sweden   Russia  
1993 Gavle/Fulun, Sweden Canada   Sweden   Czechoslovakia  
1992 Fussen/Kaufbeuren, Germany CIS   Sweden   United States
1991 Saskatoon, Canada Canada   Soviet Union   Czechoslovakia  
1990 Helsinki/Turku, Finland Canada   Soviet Union   Czechoslovakia  
1989 Anchorage, Alaska, United States Soviet Union   Sweden   Czechoslovakia  
1988 Moscow, Soviet Union Canada   Soviet Union   Finland  
1987 Piestany, Czechoslovakia Finland   Czechoslovakia   Sweden  
1986 Hamilton, Canada Soviet Union   Canada   United States
1985 Helsinki/Turku, Finland Canada   Czechoslovakia   Soviet Union  
1984 Nykoping, Sweden Soviet Union   Finland   Czechoslovakia  
1983 Leningrad, Soviet Union Soviet Union   Czechoslovakia   Canada  
1982 Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minn., United States Canada   Czechoslovakia   Finland  
1981 Fussen/Augsburg, Germany Sweden   Finland   Soviet Union  
1980 Helsinki, Finland Soviet Union   Finland   Sweden  
1979 Karlstad, Sweden Soviet Union   Czechoslovakia   Sweden  
1978 Montreal, Canada Soviet Union   Sweden   Canada  
1977 Bystrica-Zvolen, Czechoslovakia Soviet Union   Canada   Czechoslovakia  
1976* Tampere, Finland Soviet Union   Canada   Czechoslovakia  
1975* U.S./Canada Soviet Union   Canada   Sweden  
1974* Leningrad, Soviet Union Soviet Union   Finland   Canada 

* – IIHF began officially sponsoring World Junior Championship in 1977

How to watch 2023 World Juniors games on TV, live stream

  • ​TV channel (Canada): TSN
  • Live stream (Canada): TSN.ca, TSN app
  • TV channel (U.S.): NHL Network
  • Live stream (U.S.): fuboTV 

TSN and the NHL Network will once again be home to all of the action for the 2023 World Juniors.

Canadian viewers can watch the competition on TSN or can stream the games through TSN.ca or on the TSN app. 

The American audience can view the games live on TV on the NHL Network, or can stream them through fuboTV. 

MORE: Watch the 2023 World Juniors live with fuboTV (free trial, U.S. only)

Where are the 2023 World Juniors?

  • Location: Halifax N.S./Moncton, N.B.
  • Venue: Scotiabank Centre/Avenir Centre

The World Juniors will once again be split between two host cities, as the tournament will be held in Halifax, Nova Scotia and Moncton, New Brunswick.  

The games in Halifax will be played at the Scotiabank Centre, the home of the QMJHL’s Halifax Mooseheads. Any of the contests in Moncton will be played at the Avenir Centre, where the QMJHL’s Moncton Wildcats call home. 

This will be the second time Halifax is a host city for the World Juniors. Previously, the 2003 World Juniors were split between Halifax and Sydney, N.S. Moncton has never hosted the World Juniors before. 

The 2023 tournament was originally planned to be held in Russia, with Novosibirsk and Omsk as the two host cities. However, due to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, their rights were pulled by the IIHF. 

Read the full article here

Get Best News and Web Services here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button